• Summary

    The Turbos 2017 season finished painfully short of the playoffs after what had been a promising run in the middle of the season.

    They opened the season with a tough match-up against Wellington, who had the likes of Julian Savea and blockbusting hooker Asafo Aumuain top form. In week two, they hosted Tasman with Kurt Baker making an impressive return in the green and white jersey marked with a spectacular solo try. In week three the team travelled to Dunedin with All Blacks Ngani Laumape and Nehe Milner-Skudder on deck, but the side was unable to get the job done. A late penalty try from a scrum saw the side lose to Bay of Plenty before the Turbos got things on track. They knocked over premiership side Waikato in Hamilton, largely thanks to a dominant scrum. They then returned to put away Northland in an exciting spectacal before dealing to the struggling Southland in Invercargill. They were tipped up late against Counties Manukau and then faced the prospect of a surprise Ranfurly Shield Challenge against Taranaki. The team travelled to New Plymouth and put up a valient fight, but ultimately fell short. They then fell to Hawke's Bay in the final game, missing the semifinals by one point.

    Jackson Hemopo was named player of the season thanks to his consistent barnstorming displays.

  • Results

    turbos team small

    Sun, Aug 20th - 4.35pm - Central Energy Trust Arena
    29 - 41

      welly team small
    turbos team small Sun, Aug 27th - 2.35pm - Central Energy Trust Arena
    35 - 20
    Tasman Makos
    otago team small Sat, Sep 2nd - 2.35pm - Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
    40 - 30
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Fri, Sep 8th - 7.45pm - Central Energy Trust Arena
    17 - 20
    bop team small
    waikato team small Sat, Sep 16th - 2.35pm - FMG Stadium, Hamilton
    10 - 23
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Fri, Sep 22nd - 7.35pm - Cental Energy Trust Arena 
    39 - 25
    southland team small Sat, Sep 30th - 2.35pm - Rugby Park, Invercargill
    20 - 25
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Thu, Oct 5th - 7.35pm - Central Energy Trust Arena
    24 - 29
    Counties Manukau
    taranaki team small Wed, Oct 11th - 7.35pm - Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth
    46 - 25
    turbos team small
    magpies team small Sun, Oct 15th - 4.35pm - McLean Park, Napier
    36 - 31
    turbos team small

2017 Players

Jamie Booth

Jamie Booth - Halfback

Jason Emery

Jason Emery - Centre

Brayden Iose

Brayden Iose - Number 8

Ngani Laumape

Ngani Laumape - Second Five Eighth

Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith - Halfback

Liam Mitchell

Liam Mitchell - Lock

Tom Crozier

Tom Crozier - Hooker

Sione Asi

Sione Asi - Tighthead Prop

Sean Paranihi

Sean Paranihi - Tighthead Prop

Curtis Reid

Curtis Reid - Second Five Eighth

Tukiterangi Raimona

Tukiterangi Raimona - Tighthead Prop

Hunter Prescott

Hunter Prescott - Hooker

Sam Malcolm

Sam Malcolm - First Five Eighth

Brice Henderson

Brice Henderson - Number 8

Fraser Armstrong

Fraser Armstrong - Tighthead Prop

Tom Parsons

Tom Parsons - Lock

Michael Alaalatoa

Michael Alaalatoa - Tighthead Prop

Tim Cadwallader

Tim Cadwallader - Hooker

Nathan Tudreu

Nathan Tudreu - Centre

Otere Black

Otere Black - First Five Eighth

Jade Te Rure

Jade Te Rure - First Five Eighth

Hamish Northcott

Hamish Northcott - Second Five Eighth

Antonio Kiri Kiri

Antonio Kiri Kiri - Flanker

Lewis Marshall

Lewis Marshall - Fullback

Kurt Baker

Kurt Baker - Fullback

Nick Crosswell

Nick Crosswell - Flanker