• Summary

    After their exceptional form in 2011 the Turbos headed into 2012 with a number of key personnel missing. On the back of retirements and the All Blacks selection of both Aaron Smith and Aaron Cruden the team was completely different to that of the year before.

    First up losses to both Wellington and Auckland the team showed plenty of character beating Northland in round three for their first win of the season and grabbed their second in a nail biter against North Harbour 23-20 in round five. The following week the Turbos lost by 3 points to eventual champions Counties Manukau a result that could have guaranteed a semi-final berth.

    The Turbos playoff hopes came down to a must win game in Southland. In what was a dogged game of the forwards the Turbos with the lead in hand leaked a try in the dying minutes leaving them to finish 5th just outside a playoff spot. It was clear that the Turbos were rebuilding but there were plenty of positive points to take from a solid season.

  • Results

    turbos team small

    Fri, Aug 24th - 6.05pm | FMG Stadium
    11 - 30

    welly team small
    auckland team small Sun, Sep 2nd - 2.35pm | Eden Park
    59 - 16
    turbos team small
    northland team small Wed, Sep 5th - 7.35pm | Toll Stadium
    20 - 33
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Sun, Sep 9th - 2.35pm | FMG Stadium
    3 - 27
    tasman team small
    harbour team small Thur, Sep 13th - 7.35pm | North Harbour Stadium
     20- 23
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Thur, Sep 20th - 7.35pm | FMG Stadium
    28 - 31
    manakau team small
    taranaki team small Sat, Sep 29th - 2.35pm | Yarrow Stadium
    59 - 18
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Tue, Oct 2nd - 7.35pm | FMG Stadium
    35 - 51
    otago team small
    turbos team small Sat, Oct 6th - 2.35pm | FMG Stadium
    20 - 7
    magpies team small
    southland team small Fri, Oct 12th - 7.35pm | Rugby Park
    17 - 11
    turbos team small

2012 Players

Jason Emery

Jason Emery - Centre

Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith - Halfback

Shaun Curry

Shaun Curry - Second Five Eighth

Antonio Kiri Kiri

Antonio Kiri Kiri - Flanker

Matenga Baker

Matenga Baker - Second Five Eighth

Eric Fry

Eric Fry - Loosehead Prop

Jared Brock

Jared Brock - Loosehead Prop

Bryn Templeman

Bryn Templeman - Hooker

Lewis Marshall

Lewis Marshall - Fullback

Karl Bryson

Karl Bryson - Halfback

James Oliver

James Oliver - Flanker

Callum Gibbins

Callum Gibbins - Flanker

Tevita Taufu'i

Tevita Taufu'i - Second Five Eighth

Ma'afu Fia

Ma'afu Fia - Tighthead Prop

Aaron Cruden

Aaron Cruden - First Five Eighth

Hamish Gosling

Hamish Gosling - Number 8

David Te Moana

David Te Moana - Tighthead Prop

Rob Foreman

Rob Foreman - Hooker

Nick Crosswell

Nick Crosswell - Flanker

Grant Polson

Grant Polson - Loosehead Prop

Craig Clare

Craig Clare - Fullback

Tomasi Cama

Tomasi Cama - Wing

Frankie Bryant

Frankie Bryant - Second Five Eighth