• Summary

    With a full complement of players including the eventual All Blacks 9 and 10 combination of Aaron Smith and Aaron Cruden the Turbos were a force to be reckoned with in 2011.

    Playing out of the championship division in the new look ITM Cup the Turbos opened their campaign with a win over arch rivals Hawke’s Bay in the first of a 5 game unbeaten run at home. Away from home the Turbos had a history making victory when they were able to beat Wellington in Wellington for the first time in 124 years compounding a two year dominance over the Lions. Turbo fans witnessed the team’s coming of age later in the season when the Turbos final home game, aided by a man of the match performance by Aaron Cruden, belted Waikato 54-20. The Turbos backed up in the next game beating Tasman away from home for the first time when they scored a converted try with only 14 men on the field in the last 5 minutes to snatch victory.

    Such results saw the Green and White top the championship table and secure a home final against none other than Hawke’s Bay.

    Despite being hot favourites the Turbos were unable to truly take control of the game and despite dominating the second half came up short by 5 points losing 35-30.

  • Results

    turbos team small

    Sat, Jul 16th - 2.35pm | FMG Stadium
    32 - 23

    magpies team small
    manakau team small Wed, Jul 20th - 5.35pm | Growers Stadium
    25 - 32
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Sat, Jul 23rd - 12.35pm | FMG Stadium
    northland team small
    canterbury team small Fri, Jul 30th - 2.35pm | Rugby Park
    42 - 15
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Tue, Aug 2nd - 8.05pm | FMG Stadium
    32 - 21
    harbour team small
    turbos team small Sat, Aug 6th - 4.35pm
    15 - 10
    taranaki team small
    welly team small Sat, Aug 13th - 7.35pm | Westpac Stadium
    25 - 31
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Sat, Aug 20th - 7.35pm | FMG Stadium
    54 - 20
    waikato team small
    tasman team small Thur, Aug 25th - 7.35pm
    23 - 27
    turbos team small
    otago team small Wed, Aug 30th - 7.35pm
    28 - 20
    turbos team small
    turbos team small



     Sun, Sep 4th - 5.30pm | FMG Stadium

    30 - 35

    magpies team small

2011 Players

Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith - Halfback

Daniel Kelly

Daniel Kelly - First Five Eighth

Jared Brock

Jared Brock - Loosehead Prop

Kapiolani Kaufusi

Kapiolani Kaufusi - Tighthead Prop

Bryn Templeman

Bryn Templeman - Hooker

Lewis Marshall

Lewis Marshall - Fullback

Karl Bryson

Karl Bryson - Halfback

James Oliver

James Oliver - Flanker

Callum Gibbins

Callum Gibbins - Flanker

Tevita Taufu'i

Tevita Taufu'i - Second Five Eighth

Casey Stone

Casey Stone - Fullback

Ma'afu Fia

Ma'afu Fia - Tighthead Prop

Isaac Thompson - First Five Eighth

Aaron Cruden

Aaron Cruden - First Five Eighth

Doug Tietjens

Doug Tietjens - Flanker

Hamish Gosling

Hamish Gosling - Number 8

David Te Moana

David Te Moana - Tighthead Prop

Rob Foreman

Rob Foreman - Hooker

Nick Crosswell

Nick Crosswell - Flanker

Johnny Leota

Johnny Leota - Centre

Grant Polson

Grant Polson - Loosehead Prop

Craig Clare

Craig Clare - Fullback

Tomasi Cama

Tomasi Cama - Wing

Frankie Bryant

Frankie Bryant - Second Five Eighth