• Summary

    In the year that was driven by the ‘Save the Turbos Campaign’ Turbos fans and partners rallied behind the team in order to save it from being dropped from the competition on the back of financial difficulties and poor results.

    The team responded in the best possible manner by piecing together their most successful season to date and finishing a respectable 11th out of 14. With four wins and going very close to winning more the Turbos were beginning to prove that they were in the competition for a reason.

  • Results

    turbos team small

    Sun, Aug 2nd | FMG Stadium
    36 - 31

    manakau team small
    waikato team small Sat, Aug 8th | Waikato Stadium
    30 - 22
    turbos team small
    southland team small Fri, Aug 14th | Rugby Park
    23 - 25
    turbos team small
    turbos team small  Thur, Aug 20th | FMG Stadium
    19 - 12
    otago team small
    turbos team small Sat, Aug 29th | FMG Stadium
    10 - 12
    taranaki team small
    tasman team small Sat, Sep 5th | Trafalgar Park
    34 - 15
    turbos team small
    auckland team small Sun, Sep 13th | Eden Park
    23 - 20
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Sun, Sep 20th | FMG Stadium
    18 - 25
    northland team small
    magpies team small Sat, Sep 26th | McLean Park
    35 - 30
    turbos team small
    welly team small Sat, Oct 3rd | Westpac Stadium
    43 - 15
    turbos team small
    canterbury team small Fri, Oct 9th | Jade Stadium
    50 - 26
    turbos team small
    turbos team small Fri, Oct 16th | FMG Stadium
    27 - 28
    bop team small
    turbos team small Sat, Oct 24th | FMG Stadium
    42 - 16
    harbour team small

2009 Players

Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith - Halfback

Willie Ioane

Willie Ioane - Tighthead Prop

Callum Gibbins

Callum Gibbins - Flanker

Tevita Taufu'i

Tevita Taufu'i - Second Five Eighth

Casey Stone

Casey Stone - Fullback

Ma'afu Fia

Ma'afu Fia - Tighthead Prop

Isaac Thompson - First Five Eighth

Doug Tietjens

Doug Tietjens - Flanker

Kurt Baker

Kurt Baker - Fullback

Hamish Gosling

Hamish Gosling - Number 8

Aaron James

Aaron James - Centre

James Goode

James Goode - Lock

Andre Taylor

Andre Taylor - Fullback

David Te Moana

David Te Moana - Tighthead Prop

Bertus Mulder

Bertus Mulder - Number 8

Sean O'Connor

Sean O'Connor - Hooker

Johnny Leota

Johnny Leota - Centre

Grant Polson

Grant Polson - Loosehead Prop

Talau Hala

Talau Hala - Tighthead Prop

Josh Bradnock

Josh Bradnock - Flanker

Tomasi Cama

Tomasi Cama - Wing

Frankie Bryant

Frankie Bryant - Second Five Eighth

Brent Thompson

Brent Thompson - Number 8