• Summary

    There was plenty of reason for optimisim as the Turbos returned to the Championship division in 2016.

    The Turbos opened their season with a win over Northland with Ngani Laumape announcing arrival in Manawatu with a pile of big carries. They were pushed to the wire against Southland before Otere Black slotted the match-winning penalty on fulltime.

    The team travelled to Waikato in week three to challenge Waikato for the Ranfurly Shield. While they came close to claiming the spoils, they just missed out. A disappointing performance against North Harbour was quickly forgetten by a stunning win over Canterbury in the rain in Palmerston North. A try just before the fulltime whistle handed the defending champions their first loss of the season.

    But the consistency they needed was not there with losses to Taranaki and Hawke's Bay hurting their chances. When Wellington rolled into town, the Turbos were ready to launch an ambush. Their free-flowing rugby and four tries to flanker Antonio Kiri Kiri saw them post a 50-point win.

    Losses to Bay of Plenty and Otago meant they just missed out on a semifinal place.

  • Results


    Aug 19th - 7:35pm | Toll Stadium
    Northland 27-34 Turbos


    Aug 26th - 5.45pm | Arena Manawatu
    Turbos 34-31 Southland

    waikato Sep 4th - 4.35pm | FMG Stadium
    Waikato 19-10 Turbos
    north harbour Sep 10th - 2.35pm | North Harbour Stadium
    North Harbour 29-25 Turbos
    manawatu Sep 17th - 4.35pm | Arena Manawatu
    Turbos 19-13 Canterbury
    taranaki Sat, Sep 19th - 5.35pm | Yarrow Stadium
    Taranaki 30-19 Turbos
    manawatu Oct 1st - 7.35pm | Arena Manawatu
    Turbos 21-30 Hawke's Bay
    magpies team small
    manawatu Oct 5th 3rd - 7.35pm | Arena Manawatu
    Turbos 50-28 Wellington
    bop team small Oct 9th - 4.35pm | Rotorua International Stadium
    Bay of Plenty 38-33  Turbos
    manawatu Oct 14th - 7.35pm | Arena Manawatu
    Turbos 14-21 Otago
    otago team small

2016 Players

Jamie Booth

Jamie Booth - Halfback

Jason Emery

Jason Emery - Centre

Ngani Laumape

Ngani Laumape - Second Five Eighth

Aaron Smith

Aaron Smith - Halfback

Luther Hirini

Luther Hirini - Fullback

Harrison Brewer

Harrison Brewer - Flanker

Travis Taylor

Travis Taylor - Hooker

Curtis Reid

Curtis Reid - Second Five Eighth

Tukiterangi Raimona

Tukiterangi Raimona - Tighthead Prop

Hunter Prescott

Hunter Prescott - Hooker

Kane Thompson

Kane Thompson - Lock

Sam Malcolm

Sam Malcolm - First Five Eighth

Toby Morland

Toby Morland - Halfback

Fraser Armstrong

Fraser Armstrong - Tighthead Prop

Tom Parsons

Tom Parsons - Lock

Michael Alaalatoa

Michael Alaalatoa - Tighthead Prop

Tim Cadwallader

Tim Cadwallader - Hooker

Nathan Tudreu

Nathan Tudreu - Centre

Otere Black

Otere Black - First Five Eighth

Kayne Hammington

Kayne Hammington - Halfback

Newton Tudreu

Newton Tudreu - Wing

Chris Eves

Chris Eves - Loosehead Prop

Hamish Northcott

Hamish Northcott - Second Five Eighth

Antonio Kiri Kiri

Antonio Kiri Kiri - Flanker

Callum Gibbins

Callum Gibbins - Flanker

Nick Crosswell

Nick Crosswell - Flanker