• Home
  • News
  • Unchanged starting side to take on Southland

Unchanged starting side to take on Southland

on Thursday, 12 September 2019. Posted in Turbos News

Unchanged starting side to take on Southland

Turbos coach Peter Russell has named an un-changed starting side for their match against Southland in Invercargill on Saturday.

That means All Black midfielder Ngani Laumape continues in the No 12 jersey, joining forces with Hamish Northcott in the midfield as he did in the side’s win over Northland last week.

There are three injury-related changes on the bench with Fraser Armstrong returning from injury to take the place of Paulo Leleisiuao.

Tom Hughes, who is out for the season, is replaced by flanker Rhys Pedersen.

Rob Thompson, who was initially slated to start the game, is replaced on the bench by James Tofa after his calf injury flared up in training.

The Turbos are eyeing a prime opportunity to go two in a row over the winless Stags.

Manawatu have had a good record over the Southerners in recent years having not lost a game to them since 2015.

The Turbos have been able to name their strongest backline of the season with Laumape and Thompson featuring together for the first time this year.

In form halfback Jamie Booth and Otere Black will run the side’s attack, while Adam Boult has looked increasingly dangerous on the wing, Andre Taylor bagged a double in his first start for the Turbos in 10 years last week and Sam Malcolm is locked into the fullback jersey with the advantage of a big kicking game.

Up front, Fa’alelei Sione and Samu Tawake have made themselves at home in the frontrow alongside one-game Southland representative Sam Stewart.

Fraser Stone and Liam Mitchell start at lock with regular loose forward Sione Tu’ipulotu covering the second row on the bench.

Nick Crosswell, playing is 99th match, is joined by Johnny Galloway and Brayden Iose in the loose forwards.

Manawatu Turbos

  1. Fa'alelei Sione
  2. Sam Stewart
  3. Samuela Tawake
  4. Fraser Stone
  5. Liam Mitchell
  6. Nick Crosswell
  7. Johnny Galloway
  8. Brayden Iose
  9. Jamie Booth ©
  10. Otere Black
  11. Adam Boult
  12. Ngani Laumape
  13. Hamish Northcott
  14. Andre Taylor
  15. Sam Malcolm
  1. Nick Grogan
  2. Fraser Armstrong
  3. Sione Asi
  4. Sione Tu’ipulotu
  5. Rhys Pedersen
  6. Griffin Culver
  7. James Tofa
  8. Te Rangatira Waitokia