Turbos team to face Hawke's Bay

on Friday, 09 August 2019. Posted in Turbos News

Turbos team to face Hawke's Bay

Three players will make their debut when they run out onto the field for the Manawatu Turbos against Hawke’s Bay on Sunday. Prop Paulo Leleisiuao, flanker Johnny Galloway and wing Adam Boult have all been named to start while fellow debutants Samu Tawake, Sione Tu’ipulotu and Griffin Culver have been named on the bench.

The match shapes as an ideal opportunity for the Turbos to get their season off to a top start. And with coach Peter Russell a former Magpies coach, there should be no lack of motivation. Russell has been able to call on most of his top-line troops for the match aside from the likes of Tom Hughes, Andre Taylor and Rhys Pedersen who are all due back shortly from injury. That means first time captain Jamie Booth has plenty of experience around him.

Otere Black, Hamish Northcott and Rob Thompson set the looks of a formidable backline, with plenty of flair in the outside backs. Look out for Boult, the youngest member of the squad. His pace and eye for space make him a lethal weapon and his booming left boot is an advantage on defence. Up front, last season’s rookie of the year Sam Stewart got the nod at hooker to join Super Rugby prop Fraser Armstrong and Leleisiuao.

Fraser Stone has been named at lock for his first Turbos game since 2015 and is joined in the second row by Liam Mitchell. Nick Crosswell starts in the No 6 jersey for his 94th game for the province with young Brayden Iose one of the union’s most promising young talents getting a crack at No 8. Galloway has solidified his spot as the union’s top openside flanker.

There is plenty of depth on the bench with the likes of Fa’alelei Sione, Nick Grogan, Sam Wasley, James Tofa and Ben Werthmuller all top options with ball in hand.

Turbos v Hawke’s Bay

  • Fraser Armstrong
  • Sam Stewart
  • Paulo Leleisiuao
  • Fraser Stone
  • Liam Mitchell
  • Nick Crosswell
  • Johnny Galloway
  • Brayden Iose
  • Jamie Booth
  • Otere Black
  • Adam Boult
  • Hamish Northcott
  • Rob Thompson
  • Te Rangatira Waitokia
  • Sam Malcolm
  • Nick Grogan
  • Fa'alelei Sione
  • Samu Tawake
  • Sione Tu’ipulotu
  • Sam Wasley
  • Griffin Culver
  • James Tofa
  • Ben Werthmuller