Three changes for Turbos

on Thursday, 15 August 2019. Posted in Turbos News

Three changes for Turbos

The Manawatu Turbos have made three changes to their starting side to take on Taranaki at Central Energy Trust Arena on Saturday.

Nick Grogan returns to the starting side hooker, along with first career starts for tighthead prop Samu Tawake and wing Ben Werthmuller for the match that kicks off at 2.05pm.

That trio replace hooker Sam Stewart and prop Paulo Leleisiauo, who both shift to the bench, and Te Rangatira Waitokia who is out injured.

There are two additions to the bench with exciting young midfielder Josiah Maraku set for his debut and the return of towering lock Tom Hughes.

There are two additions to the bench with exciting young midfielder Josiah Maraku set for his debut and the return of towering lock Tom Hughes.

Maraku, in his first year out of Feilding High School, was one of the most impressive midfielders in McDonald’s Manawatu Senior Club Rugby this year.

His vision and passing make him a constant threat with ball in hand.

The 19-year-old played for the Manawatu Under 19s, who beat Taranaki last weekend, scoring a try in the second half.

Grogan’s long-awaited return to the starting side adds another experienced head to the Turbos’ set piece.

It will be his first start since the final game of the 2015 season when the Turbos claimed a high-scoring win over Wellington.

This will be his 26th match in green and white.

The second row and loose forward trio remain unchanged with Liam Mitchell, Fraser Stone, Nick Crosswell, Johnny Galloway and Brayden Iose all given another chance to impress.

Captain Jamie Booth remains at halfback with experienced Otere Black outside him.

The midfield of Hamish Northcott and Rob Thompson will be looking for some clean and dry ball to set away pacey outside Adam Boult.

Sam Malcolm retains the fullback jersey and will again be a long-range kicking option.

Manawatu Turbos

Palmy Proud Turbos forward pack

  1. Fraser Armstrong Sponsored by Volvo Trucks
  2. Nick Grogan Sponsored by Hino Trucks
  3. Samu Tawake Sponsored by Mack Trucks
  4. Liam Mitchell Sponsored by Distinction Hotel
  5. Fraser Stone Sponsored by Machinery Specialists
  6. Nick Crosswell Sponsored by Humphries Construction
  7. Johnny Galloway Sponsored by Yorb
  8. Brayden Iose Sponsored by Gary Douglas Engineers

McIntosh Farm Machinery and Cranes Turbos backline

  1. Jamie Booth Sponsored by the Rural Community Group
  2. Otere Black Sponsored by Capture Signs
  3. Adam Boult Sponsored by DTSL
  4. Hamish Northcott Sponsored by Telcospec
  5. Rob Thompson Sponsored by Clarke Underground
  6. Ben Werthmuller Sponsored by Bell-Booth
  7. Sam Malcolm Sponsored by McDonald’s Manawatu

Melody’s New World Turbos Reserves

  1. Sam Stewart Sponsored by Kubota
  2. Fa’alelei Sione Sponsored by the Geoff Thompson Keep Well Programme
  3. Paulo Leleisiuao Sponsored by DH Painters and Decorators
  4. Tom Hughes Sponsored by Pro Fab Engineers
  5. Sione Tu’ipulotu Sponsored by Dominator Garage Doors
  6. Griffin Culver Sponsored by Black Bull Manawatu
  7. James Tofa Sponsored by Manawatu Security Fencing
  8. Josiah Maraku Sponsored by Café Cuba