• Home
  • News
  • Manawatu side confirmed for Kimbolton match

Manawatu side confirmed for Kimbolton match

on Thursday, 25 July 2019. Posted in Turbos News

Manawatu side confirmed for Kimbolton match

There is plenty on the line as Manawatu prepare for their final preseason match of the season against Wellington in Kimbolton on Sunday.

The match, which kicks off at 2pm, provides players their final chance for players to jockey for spots in the Turbos squad.

It is free entry for fans in the sole match between the provinces this year.

Adam Boult will once again get the chance to stamp his mark on the No 15 jersey.

The pacey fullback has made a habit of crossing the tryline this preseason.

Te Rangatira Waitokia and Ben Werthmuller will start on the wings.

James Tofa gets another opportunity to impress the coaches in the No 12 jersey having shared the role with Ueta Tufuga this preseason.

After missing last week with injury, Hamish Northcott returns at centre replacing the injured Josiah Maraku.

Sam Malcolm and Jamie Booth will start at first five-eighth and halfback respectively.

Up front Fa’alelei Sione and Paulo Leleisiuao start at prop with Sam Stewart at hooker.

Liam Mitchell and Fraser Stone join forces in the second row, with Sione Tuipulotu, Johnny Galloway and Brayden Iose in the loose forwards.

There should be plenty of spark from the bench with a host of looking to fight their way into the squad.

Hooker Harry Jones had an impressive club season for Feilding Yellows and will need to replicate that against Wellington.

Prop Sam Tufuga, lock Mickey Woolliams, midfielder Tufuga and fullback Drew Wild are others who will be fighting to prove they are ready for the step up to Mitre 10 Cup rugby.

The full Turbos, including the captain for 2019, will be announced on Wednesday next week.

Manawatu: 15 Adam Boult, 14 Te Rangatira Waitokia, 13 Hamish Northcott, 12 James Tofa, 11 Ben Werthmuller, 10 Sam Malcolm, 9 Jamie Booth, 8 Brayden Iose, 7 Johnny Galloway, 6 Sione Tuipulotu, 5 Liam Mitchell, 4 Fraser Stone, 3 Paulo Leleisiauo, 2 Sam Stewart, 1 Fa’alelei Sione. Reserves: Harry Jones, Sunao Takizawa, Sam Tufuga, Nick Crosswell, Mickey Woolliams, Sam Wasley, Fraser Armstrong, Griffin Culver, Ben Wyness, Ueta Tufuga, Drew Wild