Manawatū's Feilding Record

on Friday, 30 October 2020. Posted in Turbos News

Manawatū's Feilding Record

Feilding plays host to its first first-class game in 37 years when the Turbos run out at Manfeild on Sunday against Southland.

The match, which will be the 13th in Feilding, is the first at Manfeild with a field developed since July to host two matches on November 1 and November 8.

The long-awaited return of first class rugby to Feilding comes at a fitting time for the province with Feilding’s clubs’ recent dominance in Hankins Shield club rugby.

Feilding Old Boys-Ōroua won the Senior One title in 2018 beating Feilding Yellows. Feilding Yellows bounced back the very next year winning the title in 2019 and defending the shield again in 2020.

While Manawatū played a preseason match at Johnston Park in 2016 and another preseason match at Kimbolton in 2019, the last time Manawatū played a first class fixture in Feilding was in 1983 when they hosted Whanganui at Johnston Park.

Manawatū, with a team featuring the likes of Gary Knight, Mark Donaldson, Murray Rosenbrook and Geoff Old, beat their neighbours 22-13 in front of 2000 fans.

That match was also a rare outing in Feilding.

A match in 1947 against Wairarapa was the previous outing, while you have to go back to the 1930s for Manawatū’s regular fixtures in the town.

Between 1933 and 1939 Manawatū played one match per season in Feilding.

Those matches were all at Johnston Park, which was established in 1928.

The first match in Feilding was played in 1908 when they played at the former racecourse against Whanganui and they returned to the venue again in 1910 and 1913.

Feilding has been a happy hunting ground for the green and whites. Manawatū has won 75 percent of their matches in the town with just three losses in 12 outings.


1908 beat Whanganui 9-0
1910 beat Whanganui 9-6
1913 lost to Whanganui 0-8
1933 beat Whanganui 23-16
1934 beat Wairarapa 26-20
1935 beat Whanganui 25-11
1936 beat Whanganui 27-6
1937 beat Wairarapa 22-8
1938 lost to Taranaki 3-9
1939 beat King Country 20-11
1947 lost to Wairarapa 12-24
1983 beat Whanganui 22-13