• Home
  • News
  • Cyclones and Turbos double header set for September

Cyclones and Turbos double header set for September

Written by Shaun Eade on Thursday, 12 July 2018. Posted in Turbos News

Cyclones and Turbos double header set for September

The Manawatu Cyclones are confirmed to play in part of a double-header matchday alongside the Manawatu Turbos at Central Energy Trust Arena on September 23.

The Cyclones will play Canterbury at 2.05pm in round four of the Farah Palmer Cup, with the Turbos kicking off their Mitre 10 Cup match against Wellington at 4.35pm.

It is one of two double-headers the side is part of with their round five clash against Waikato on September 29 confirmed for Waikato Stadium ahead of Waikato’s Mitre 10 Cup match against Southland.

The Cyclones’ season kicks off on September 1 when they travel to take on Auckland, before an away round two match against Counties Manukau.

Their first home match is against Bay of Plenty on September 15 before the home double-header one week later against Canterbury.

They round out the season with their trip to Waikato before finishing off at home against neighbours Hawke’s Bay.

All Cyclones home matches will be played on the main field at CET Arena in 2018.

The side will be coached by Fusi Feaunati and assistant coach Scott Lewis.

This year’s Farah Palmer Cup has been expanded to 12 teams with the addition of Taranaki.

Fans can expect to see more of the competition than ever before with SKY premiering a dedicated weekly highlights show and live broadcasting a minimum of 16 matches, including at least one semifinal and the final.

The Farah Palmer Cup highlights show will be the world’s first dedicated women’s rugby highlights show.


Manawatu Cyclones draw:

September 1 - Auckland v Manawatu, TBC

September 8 – Counties Manukau v Cyclones, Massey Park, Papakura, 12pm

September 15 – Manawatu v Bay of Plenty, CET Arena, Palmerston North, 1pm

September 23 – Manawatu v Canterbury, CET Arena, Palmerston North, 2.05pm (Turbos-Cyclones double header)

September 29 – Waikato v Manawatu, Waikato Stadium, Hamilton, 11.35am

October 6 – Manawatu v Hawke’s Bay, CET Arena, Palmerston North, 1pm

October 13 – Semifinals

October 20 - Final