• Home
  • News
  • Crosswell to bring up 100th game v Canterbury

Crosswell to bring up 100th game v Canterbury

on Tuesday, 17 September 2019. Posted in Turbos News

Crosswell to bring up 100th game v Canterbury

Nick Crosswell has been confirmed to start his 100th game for Manawatu when the side take on Canterbury on Thursday night in Christchurch.

The 33-year-old, who debuted for the province back in the first game of the Turbos era in 2006, has played every game for the province this season.

It has been a special year on the rugby field for Crosswell with him being a key part of the Feilding Yellows side who claimed the Hankins Shield in McDonald’s Manawatu Club rugby.

It is the former New Zealand Maori representative’s third season back with the Turbos having spent three seasons playing for Welsh club Newport-Gwent.

Crosswell has played Super Rugby for the Hurricanes, Highlanders and the Chiefs.

He is Manawatu’s 11th centurion in its 134-year history which has seen 1666 players pull on the green and white jersey.

Coach Peter Russell has made just two changes to his starting side for the match against Canterbury following on from back-to-back wins over Northland and Southland.

Fraser Armstrong returns to the starting side after making a strong impact off the bench last week in his return from injury.

Sam Malcolm has been ruled out with concussion following the game on Saturday with Andre Taylor shifting to fullback and Te Rangatira Waitokia moving to the right wing.

That reshuffle sees Josiah Maraku join the bench fresh from playing for the Manawatu Under 19s at the Jock Hobbs Nationals last week.

There is a potential debutant on the bench in Kia Toa halfback Atu Henare.

Henare replaces Griffin Culver, who is sick this week, and will cover halfback.

Ngani Laumape will remain the dangerman for Manawatu in the midfield.

Laumpae put on a clinic against Southland in the second half with two tries at a crucial stage of the game.

Otere Black has found his goalkicking rhythm and has looked more dangerous in recent weeks with his ability to put other players into space.

Rob Thompson (concussion), Ben Werthmuller (knee), Ben Wyness (ankle), Tom Hughes (achilles), Sunao Takizawa (wrist), Malcolm (concussion) and Culver (ill) were all unavailable for the match.


  1. Fraser Armstrong
  2. Nick Grogan
  3. Samuela Tawake
  4. Fraser Stone
  5. Liam Mitchell
  6. Nick Crosswell
  7. Johnny Galloway
  8. Brayden Iose
  9. Jamie Booth
  10. Otere Black
  11. Adam Boult
  12. Ngani Laumape
  13. Hamish Northcott
  14. Te Rangatira Waitokia
  15. Andre Taylor
  16. Sam Stewart
  17. Fa'alelei Sione
  18. Sione Asi
  19. Sione Tu’ipulotu
  20. Rhys Pedersen
  21. Atutahi Henare
  22. Josiah Maraku
  23. James Tofa