Counties a must-win for Turbos

on Friday, 11 October 2019. Posted in Turbos News

Counties a must-win for Turbos

The Turbos have made three changes to the starting side for their must-win clash with Counties Manukau on Saturday at Central Energy Trust Arena.

The Turbos head into the final round of the competition in fifth place, with them needing defending premiership champions Auckland to defeat Taranaki on Friday night to give them a shot of finishing in the top four.

Coach Peter Russell has once again been able to call on his regular stable of players with the additions of Sam Stewart at hooker, James Tofa at centre and Sam Malcolm at fullback.

Malcolm's return to the starting side sees Andre Taylor shift back to the right wing.

The other major change comes on the bench with Russell opting for a 6-2 forwards-backs split on the bench.

That allows Under 19s standout No 8 Tyler Laubuscher to come onto the bench for his potential debut in jersey No 23



  1. Fraser Armstrong
  2. Sam Stewart
  3. Samu Tawake
  4. Fraser Stone
  5. Liam Mitchell
  6. Nick Crosswell
  7. Johnny Galloway
  8. Brayden Iose
  9. Jamie Booth
  10. Otere Black
  11. Josiah Maraku
  12. Ngani Laumape
  13. James Tofa
  14. Andre Taylor
  15. Sam Malcolm
  16. Nick Grogan
  17. Fa’alelei Sione
  18. Paulo Leleisiuao
  19. Rhys Pedersen
  20. Sione Tu’ipulotu
  21. Atutahi Henare
  22. Ben Werthmuller
  23. Tyler Laubscher